Amal reaches tennis final

April 19, 2013

Top seed Amal Roy and second seed Alamgir Hossain moved into the singles final of Tennis event of the 8th Bangladesh Games after winning their respective
semi-final matches at the National Tennis Complex on Tuesday.
The men’s tennis events began early to facilitate the Bangladesh team to participate in the Davis Cup and it will end today, a day before the formal opening of the Games, with the men’s final.
Amal of Engineer Recreation Centre stands a chance to lift Games’ first individual gold medal after he  came from behind to beat third seed Anwar Hossain of British High Commission Club 4-6, 6-2 and 6-2 in the first semi-final.
He will face Alamgir of Nordic Club, who defeated his team-mate Dipu Lal 6-3 and 6-3.
In men’s doubles, Ranjan Ram and Mizanur Rahman pair defeated Anwar Hossain and Dipu Lal pair 6-4, 1-6, 10-6 to move into the final and they will face Amal Roy and Prithul Mandol, who beat Rustam Ali and Jamil Bhuiyan 6-0 and 6-3.
Hockey started on Thursday with Faridpur, BKSP, Bangladesh Army and Bangladesh Navy making a winning start at the Maulana Bhasani Hockey Stadium.
Faridpur thrashed  Patuakhali 16-0 riding on five and four goals from Aminul Islam and Pushkor Khisha Mimo respectively while BKSP overpowered Bangladesh Police 6-0.
Bangladesh Army defeated Bangladesh Air Force 5-1 with Abdul Malek scoring three goals while Bangladesh Navy also recorded identical 5-1 win over Mymensingh. Jahidul Islam struck two goals for Navy.
The events of Taekwondo, Squash and Table Tennis will start today at three different venues.
Taekwondo will feature 22 events, 11 each in men’s and women’s sections, at the National Sports Council gymnasium, while three squash events will be played at Dhaka Club and Gulshan Club.
Eight men’s and eight women’s teams will compete in seven events of Table Tennis at the Shaheed Tajuddin Ahmed Indoor Stadium.
In another development, the Bangladesh Cricket Board finally agreed to participate in the Games on its own expense after showing its reluctance initially.
BCB’s tournament committee chairman Naimur Rahman told reporters that eight National Cricket League teams will participate in a Twenty20 competition from April 21.

-With New Age input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.