Sainfiet inserts fresh blood

August 21, 2016

National team head coach Tom Saintfiet picked six new faces as the Bangladesh Football Federation announced a 33-member preliminary squad for the forthcoming Asian Cup qualifiers play-offs against Bhutan.
Saintfiet, who took charge of the national side on July 11, was given a 32-member list by BFF for week long training and he excluded 12 players from that list and added 13 more considering the performance of the recent Bangladesh Premier League.
The Belgian coach dropped veteran right winger Zahid Hossain, goalkeeper Russell Mahmud Liton, midfielders Hemanta Vincent Biswas, Monayem Khan Raju and Masuk Miah Jony and added six new faces — Arambagh midfielder Monsur Amin, Team BJMC forward Mohammad Sohel Rana, Rahmatganj midfielders Sentu Chandra Sen, Didarul Alam and forward Mahbub Hasan Noyon and Sheikh Russell forward Rummon Hossain.
Saintfiet said he picked a squad after watching some matches in the Federation Cup and league.
‘The first selection was not made by me because I cannot know the players,’ he said.
‘I watched three games and selected 12 players and the rest was added by assistant coach [Saiful Bari Titu] and federation.’
‘I have a list of 52 players who are playing good and the federation has a place for only 32 players for camp.
Saintfiet, who is going to start the camp from today, also hinted that he can call more players before the Bhutan team if they deserve. The coach also said in the next few days he will cut the squad short to 23-member ahead of the FIFA International friendly match against Maldives, scheduled on September 1.
Goalkeepers: Shahidul Alam Sohel, Ashraful Islam Rana, Maksudur Rahman Mostak, Mohammad Nehal; Defenders: Tapu Barman, Mamun Miah, Ariful Islam, Wali Faisal, Rayhan Hasan, Nasiruddin Chowdhury, Yeamin Ahmed Chowdhury, Rezaul Karim, Atiqur Rahman Meshu, Monsur Amin; Midfielders: Pranotosh Kumar, Emon Mahmud Babu, Mamunul Islam, Sohel Rana, Jamal Bhuiyan, Mohammad Abdullah, Mohammad Sohel Rana, Sentu Chandra Sen, Anamul Haque Sharif; Forwards: Jewel Rana, Nabib Newoaz Jibon, Rubel Miah, Romman Hossain, Shakhwat Hossain Rony, Jafar Iqbal, Aminur Rahman Sazib, Mehedi Hasan Tapu, Didarul Alam, Mahbub Hasan Noyon.

-With New Age input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.