New-look squad for last WC qualifier

February 24, 2016

Bangladesh Football Federation on Tuesday announced a 22-member preliminary squad for the forthcoming World Cup qualifier against Jordan, excluding 12 players from the previous squad.
Newly-appointed Spanish coach Gonzalo Sanchez Moreno called up two new faces—defender Shakil Ahmed and midfielder Fazle Rabbi – along with nine players who were not very regular in the national team in the recent time.
Both the new faces got the national call up after they had impressed the coach in the South Asian Games where Bangladesh were forced to remain content with bronze medal.
The Spaniard, who guided Bangladesh Under-23 national football team in the SA Games, didn’t allow any of the accused seven players—Mamunul Islam, Shahidul Alam Sohel, Yeasin Khan, Yeamin Ahmed Chowdhury, Sohel Rana, Atiqur Rahman Meshu and Zahid Hossain—who allegedly breached disciplines in recent international matches.
Moreno picked 14 players from the SA Games squad and dropped veteran forwards Zahid Hasan Ameli, Mithun Chowdhury and midfielder Alamgir Kabir Rana for poor performances while midfielder Hemanta Vincent Biswas was also ruled out for hamstring injury.
The coach also excluded defender Nasiruddin Chowdhury and included defender Rezaul Karim Reza who looked off-colour in the South Asian Games.
‘We formed a squad considering recent form of the players,’ assistant coach Syed Golam Jilani said on Tuesday.
‘Coach [Moreno] also preferred fit players before choosing his preliminary squad so some players, who were member of the previous national team, could not be considered.’
Jilani said head coach excluded Nasir Chowdhury only because of his age.
‘We recommended the name of Nasir because he played well in the Bangabandhu Gold Cup but coach dropped him because of his age.’
‘We still have chance to include other players including the alleged offenders.’
Bangladesh will face Jordan in their last World Cup qualifier on March 24. Before that they will play a warm-up match against UAE on March 18.
Goalkeepers: Russell Mahmud Liton, Mazharul Islam Hemel, Ashraful Islam Rana.
Defenders: Rayhan Hasan, Topu Barman, Nasirul Islam Nasir, Rezaul Karim Reza, Kesto Kumar Bosh, Waly Faisal, Shakil Ahmed.
Midfielders: Emon Mahmud, Monayem Khan Raju, Jamal Bhuiyan, Shahedul Alam Shahed, Fazley Rabbi, Atiqur Rahman Fahad, Masuk Miah Jony.
Forwards: Rubel Miah, Nabib Newaj Jibon, Shakhwat Hossain Rony, Jewel Rana, Aminur Rahman Sojib.

-With New Age input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.