Abahani clinch women’s football league title

March 31, 2013

Dhaka Abahani Limited defeated Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited 3-1 in the final to lift the Walton Metropolis Women’s Football League title at the Bangabandhu National Stadium on Saturday.
Aung Mra Ching Marma, Suraiya Khatun and Suinu Pru Marma scored one goal apiece for Abahani while Liza bagged the only goal for Mohammedan.
Aung Mra Ching Marma gave Abahani the lead in the 3rd minute courtesy of a chip shot over the advancing Mohammedan goalkeeper Moli before which she went past several opposition defenders. This was Aung Mra’s 29th goal of the competition, making her the leading scorer.
However, forward Liza equalised for Mohammedan in the 21st minute after a cross from midfielder Mukta from the right wing as her left footed volley thumped the Abahani net to give Mohammedan some hope.
Abahani though took the lead again in the 35th minute through their right winger Suraiya Khatun who headed the ball home, after exploiting a cross from Mainu Marma from the left flank.
Mohammedan’s national striker Sabina Khatun, who had an incredible 28 goals to her name going into the final, wasted a chance to equalise the score again in the 42nd minute but her effort narrowly missed the target with Abahani custodian Sabina Akter at her mercy.
Abahani captain Suinu Pru Marma guaranteed Abahani’s title in the 75th minute from a free kick in midfield when Mohammedan goalkeeper Moli misjudged the flight of the ball.
It was second time unlucky for Mohammedan, who lost out to Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club in the final of the last edition while Abahani will be rightfully elated, knowing it was their maiden apprearance.
Abahani were awarded Tk 50, 000 as champions while Mohammedan pocketed Tk 30, 000 as runners up.

-With New Age input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.