Three newbies in payroll

December 28, 2015

The Bangladesh Cricket Board is all set to include three new faces in its payroll for 2016, officials said on Sunday. Pace bowler Mustafizur Rahman, Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman have been recommended by the national selectors for the payroll after their impressive performance in the outgoing year. The BCB sources said that a total of 15 cricketers will be offered new payroll, one more than the current year.
Opener Anamul Haque and pace bowler Shafiul Islam are expected to be omitted from the list as they have become irregular in the national team recently.
The current contract, comprising with five categories of cricketers, will expire in December.
The cricket operation committee recently recommended 25 per cent of pay hike for the players.
All three newcomers are set to be drafted in D category as per the BCB policy.
Bangladesh’s skipper Mashrafee bin Murtaza, Test skipper Mushfiqur Rahim, all-rounder Sakib Al Hasan, opener Tamim Iqbal and all-rounder Mahmudullah will be placed in A+ category in the new payroll.
As there was no cricketers to fulfill the criterion for the A category, it will remain vacant. Pace bowler Rubel Hossain, opener Imrul Kayes and Nasir Hossain will be placed in B category.
Mominul Haque will be the only player in C category while Taijul Islam, Arafat Sunny and pacer Al-Amin Hossain will join the three newcomers in D category.
The only notable omission in the payroll is paceman Taskin Ahmed, who was part of both the one-day international and Twenty20 teams during last year barring injury.
Currently players from A+ category receive Tk Two lakh as monthly salary while players from B category received Tk 1, 20,000 per month.
The players from C category earn Tk 90,000 while D category players receive Tk 60,000 per month.

-With New Age input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.