SL haul big 148-run victory

March 11, 2015

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015
SL haul big 148-run victory
Sri Lanka defeated Scotland by 148 runs in their last group and the 35th match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart today.
Kumar Sangakkara, who scored his consecutive fourth century today, was awarded Player of the Match award.
After winning the toss, Lankan captain Angelo Mathews decided to bat first.
As opener Lahiru Thirimanne went out on the sixth over at his 4 runs, Dilshan and first-down Sanga stood against the Scottish bowling attack and made a partnership of 195 runs.
Dilshan departed scoring 104 runs off 99 deliveries while Sanga 124 runs off 95 balls.
Skipper Angelo Mathews again put on a resistance at the middle-order scoring 51 runs.
Josh Davey was the most successful bowler of the Scottish side, picking three wickets spending 63 runs. Alasdair Evans and Richie Berrington also picked two wickets each.
In reply, Scottish top-orders failed to score when Scottish skipper Preston Mommsen and middle-order Freddie Coleman helmed their innings for a while scoring 60 and 70 respectively.
Nuwan Kulasekara and Dushmantha Chameera picked three wickets each. Lasith Malinga picked two wickets.
Scotland Team
KJ Coetzer, CS MacLeod, FRJ Coleman, MW Machan, PL Mommsen (Captain), RD Berrington, MH Cross (WK), JH Davey, MA Leask, AC Evans and RML Taylor
Sri Lanka Team
HDRL Thirimanne, TM Dilshan, KC Sangakkara (WK), DPMD Jayawardene, AD Mathews (Captain), PVD Chameera, MDKJ Perera, NLTC Perera, S Prasanna, KMDN Kulasekara and SL Malinga

-With The Daily Star input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.