Sakib named among CPL’s best

August 31, 2013

All-rounder Sakib al Hasan was recognised on Friday for his stellar bowling for the Barbados Tridents when he was named in the inaugural Caribbean Premier League Team of the tournament, despite his poor form with the willow. Sakib and his national team-mate Tamim Iqbal, who was not included in the 12-man list of CPL stand-out performers, were the only two Bangladeshi cricketers to participate in the Twenty20 competition.
Tamim scored 162 runs in seven matches at an average of 23.14, posting significantly better scores than Sakib, who averaged just 3.66 runs in six innings.
However, Sakib also took 11 wickets at an economy rate of 5.68 with his left-arm spin to finish as the second highest wicket-taker in the tournament.
He also produced one of the splendid performances of the tournament when he took 6 wickets for only 6 runs against Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel in Bridgetown on August 3, which gave him the second-best match figures in the Twenty20 history.
The Team of the Tournament selection panel was made up of television commentators Jeffrey Dujon, Mike Haysman and Tony Cozier, match referee Mike Procter and all the umpires who officiated in the competition. Selections were made based only on performances in the CPL, with past records and reputations not taken into consideration.
CPL Team of the Tournament: Andre Fletcher (St Lucia Zouks), Chris Gayle (captain, Jamaica Tallawahs), Lendl Simmons (Guyana Amazon Warriors), Shoaib Malik (Barbados Tridents), James Franklin (Guyana Amazon Warriors), Andre Russell (Jamaica Tallawahs), Marlon Samuels (Antigua Hawksbills), Sakib Al Hasan (Barbados Tridents), Rayad Emrit (Barbados Tridents), Krishmar Santokie (Guyana Amazon Warriors), Muttiah Muralitharan (Jamaica Tallawahs), 12th man: Ashley Nurse (Barbados Tridents).

-With New Age input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.