Saber stays away from BCB poll

October 17, 2017

Former president Saber Hossain Chowdhury is among the notable absentees as the Bangladesh Cricket Board on Monday published the draft list of councillors for the upcoming elections.
Different organisations have nominated 167 individuals as councillors, who will elect 23 directors from three categories on October 31. Three districts – Bandarban, Bagerhat and Kurigram – failed to nominate any councillors along with Biman Bangladesh Airlines and Dhaka education board.
Saber was nominated by first division club Baridhara Dazzlers in the previous election as councillor but the club replaced him with Reaz Ahmed for the next four years.
Saber was at loggerhead with BCB over the legitimacy of it constitution, which prompted incumbent president Nazmul Hasan recently to accuse him of hatching a conspiracy against county’s cricket.
Though Saber distanced himself from the next BCB elections at least seven of his parliament colleagues from the ruling Bangladesh Alwami League made the list of councillors.
They include Nazmul, who was nominated by Abahani, unlike his previous term when he got his nomination from the National Sports Council.
The other MPs to make the list of BCB councillors are – Gazi Golam Dastagir, Naimur Rahman, Iqbalur Rahim, Kazi Nabil Ahmed, Ikramul Karim Chowdhury, Nizam Uddin Hajari.
NSC nominated, Zakia Tajin –the wife of businessman Shafiullah Al Munir – and Bangladesh Premier League franchise Chittagong Viking owner Abdul Wahed among others.
Azam Iqbal, ASM Farque, Omar Khaled Rumi, Selim Shahed, Khaled Mahmud, Faisal Hossain, Ahsanullah Hasan, Niamur Rashid, and Shahedur Rahman have been nominated by BCB in players’ quota.
Roqibul Hasan, Gazi Ashraf Hossain, Faruque Ahmed, Minhajul Abedin and Khaled Mashud have been nominated by BCB in captain’s quota. Another former national captain Akram Khan has retained his councillorship from the Chittagong Divisional Sports Association.
BCB chief executive officer Nizamuddin Chowdhury said there was no scope for organisations which missed the deadline to send the name of councillor now.
‘We scrutinised the papers that we got until yesterday [Sunday] and we sent to the election commission. They have published the draft list today,’ he said.
The final list of councillors will be published today after hearing the objections, if any.

-With New Age input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.