New Zealand beat South Africa by 4 wickets, in finals for 1st time

March 24, 2015

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015
New Zealand beat South Africa by 4 wickets, in finals for 1st time
South Africa has tilted the game a little in their favour chipping away wickets after the fiery blaze of Brendon McCullum to start New Zealand’s chase of 298 at Eden Park.
The comeback has been splendid and Imran Tahir has been at the centre of it clamping down on the runs which compelled McCullum’s wicket in the seventh over.
McCullum, who seemed determined to cut the match short, made a blistering fifty before getting out to Morne Morkel – and South Africa would have breathed a sigh of relief.
Morne Morkel’s strike the over next reined New Zealand’s run flow further and Martin Guptill’s run out choked the run rate further. Taylor was out after a brief while to Duminy.
Earlier, South Africa posted a total of 281, riding on the clobbering of Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers and David Miller in a rain reduced innings of 43 overs for each side.
It was a brilliant recovery for the Proteas, shaking off early jitters, after co-hosts and heavyweight contenders New Zealand started match on top getting rid of both openers cheaply.
This is the first time in this tournament that the Kiwis have not bowled a side out.
Trent Boult, who is now the leading wicket taker of this tournament, continued his fiery form to this match and got rid of Hashim Amla and Quinton de Kock early.
The recovery was provided by a crucial 83-run partnership between du Plessis and Rilee Rossouw before the latter was removed by a top catch off Corey Anderson.
Du Plessis and de Villiers struck fifties with David Miller scoring some quick runs in the latter phase to heave South Africa to 281 – the target was adjusted to 298 by D/L method.
South Africa, who has not had a seamless run thus far in this tournament, won the toss and chose to bat first eyeing to reach the pinnacle of a World Cup for the first time.
The Proteas recalled Vernon Philander in place of Kyle Abbott, a swinger bowler in place of a more hit-the-deck operator. New Zealand brought in Matt Henry in place of Adam Milne.
New Zealand Team
BB McCullum (Capt), MJ Guptill, KS Williamson, LRPL Taylor, GD Elliott, CJ Anderson, L Ronchi (wk), DL Vettori, MJ Henry, TG Southee and TA Boult
South Africa Team
HM Amla, Q de Kock (wk), F du Plessis, AB de Villiers (Capt), RR Rossouw, DA Miller, JP Duminy, VD Philander, DW Steyn, M Morkel and Imran Tahir

-With The Daily Star input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.