Khulna, Rajshahi win in women’s cricket

December 30, 2009

Khulna and Rajshahi Divisions won their respective matches in the 3rd Women’s National Cricket League at separate venues across country on Tuesday.
Hosts Khulna Division earned a comfortable 10-wicket victory over Chittagong Division at the Khulna University ground while Rajshahi Division outplayed Dhaka Division by 100 runs at the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium (SANS) in Khulna.
At Khulna University ground, Chittagong Division batted first after winning the toss and were dismissed for paltry 54 runs in 36.4 overs.
Opener Nuzhat Tasnia scored 11 runs while team highest 17 runs came from extras.
Shuktara and Salma grabbed three wickets each for 9 and 14 runs respectively.
In reply, Khulna Division cantered to their target scoring 58 runs in 14.2 overs without losing any wicket with national colour opener Shuktara remaining unbeaten on 26 and another opener Rozina not out 20 runs.
Sent into bat first at SANS in Khulna, Rajshahi Division scored 174 runs for all in 49.1 overs with Farhana Haque contributing 73 runs, Panna Ghosh 23 and Dolly Rani Sarker 22.
Sharifa Khatun claimed three wickets for 10 runs while Shahnaz Parvin took two for 13 runs.
Chasing a target of 175 runs, Dhaka Division were dismissed for 74 runs in 37.5 overs with Chameli Khatun and Shamima Sultana scoring 10 runs each. Sathira Zakir claimed three wickets for six runs while Tithi Rani Sarker took two wickets for 24 runs.

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.