Ireland deny Zimbabwe win

March 7, 2015

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015
Ireland deny Zimbabwe win
So close but yet so far, Zimbabwe lost to Ireland by 5 runs at Hobert in the ICC cricket World Cup 2015 match today with a win just beyond the reach of their grasp.
At the end of today’s result, Zimbabwe splashed cold water on their quarterfinal chances unless they manage a win against India in their next match. And, Ireland improved theirs.
Ireland proved their worth at this World Cup again and piled a massive 331 after being put to bat first riding on a century off Ed Joyce and a hard fought 97 from Andy Balbirnie.
Sean Williams and Tendai Chatara took three wickets each for Zimbabwe while Tinashe Panyangara claimed one for himself.
Coming down in chase of the huge total, Zimbabwe went on a slide early before their Captain Brendan Taylor, 121, made the chase feasible.
A crucial point was at the time when Sean Williams, 96, was given out amid controversy on whether Mooney actually touched the boundary ropes to hold on to a catch.
However, the total, in the end, remained beyond Zimbabwe – what very well maybe the sun setting on Zimbabwe’s World Cup and rising for the Irish side of the fence.
Ireland Team
WTS Porterfield*, PR Stirling, EC Joyce, NJ O’Brien, A Balbirnie, GC Wilson†, KJ O’Brien, JF Mooney, AR Cusack, GH Dockrell, A McBrine
Zimbabwe Team
CJ Chibhabha, Sikandar Raza, SF Mire, H Masakadza, BRM Taylor*†, SC Williams, CR Ervine, RW Chakabva, T Mupariwa, T Panyangara, TL Chatara

-With The Daily Star input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.