India beat Bangladesh by 109 runs

March 19, 2015

ICC Cricket world Cup 2015
India beat Bangladesh by 109 runs
Riding on Rohit Sharma’s century, India beat Bangladesh by a big margin of 109 runs at Melbourne today to advance into the semifinal of the ICC cricket World Cup 2015.
For Bangladesh it was the first World Cup knockout match in history where they were subjected to “questionable umpiring decisions” working in favour for India.
Winning the toss and choosing to bat first, India made 302 riding on the century of Rohit Sharma, fifty from Suresh Raina and a couple of umpiring decisions going their way.
Credit to Bangladesh bowlers, they could curb down India after the opening pair of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan gave a 75-run solid start with a class batting lineup to follow.
The last 15 overs, that included the umpires’ eyebrow-raising call to let off Rohit in the 90’s on a ball they thought was full toss above waist height, went expensive with 147 runs.
Taskin Ahmed ended with three wickets for Bangladesh in their maiden knockout match of a World Cup and Rubel Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza and Shakib Al Hasan claiming one apiece.
Coming down to chase, Bangladesh openers were lost on successive deliveries after Tamim Iqbal was quickfiring for the Tigers.
And yet another umpiring decision that may have gone against Bangladesh was the dismissal of the in-form batsman Mahmudullah on the boundary ropes by Shikhar Dhawan.
Since then, wickets fell on regular intervals and Bangladesh could never really recover and match upto the required scoring rate. In the end, they were packed at 193.
Umesh Yadav was peak of the bowlers with four wickets, Mohammad Shami and Ravindra Jadeja two each and Mohit Sharma one. Rohit was player of the match for his ton.
Bangladesh Team
Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed
India Team
Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (C & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Mohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav

-With The Daily Star input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.