Akheri Munajat today

January 30, 2011

Ijtema 2nd Phase
Akheri Munajat today
Thousands of Muslims from home and abroad will pray seeking divine blessings from Allah on the bank of river Turag as the second phase of Biswa Ijtema ends today with the Akheri Munajat (concluding prayer).
The concluding prayer is expected to start any moment before the Johar prayers following sermons by eminent Islamic scholars on various aspects of the religion for two days.
The vehicular movement on Dhaka-Mymensingh highway and Tongi-Kaliganj road will remain suspended for hours during and after the concluding prayers, said Tongi police.
Many visitors yesterday were seen taking treatment from the free medical service centres for their different physical problems while 38 devotees were admitted to Tongi General Hospitals in last two days, reports a Gazipur correspondent.
To participate at the concluding prayers, thousands of devotees are now heading towards the ijtema from 33 districts, apparently turning the venue of the second largest gathering of Muslims into a human sea.
Political leaders and foreign diplomats are also expected to join today’s prayer.
Meanwhile, law-enforcers have established tight security to ensure peaceful observance of the event.
Unlike the previous occasions, this year’s gathering is limited to the Ijtema field due to holding of the event in parts.
For the first time since its inception in 1967, Ijtema is being held in two phases. The first phase of the event ended on January 23. The second phase started on January 28 after a four-day break.
Devotees from districts of Dhaka, Munshiganj, Manikganj, Narayanganj, Netrakona, Tagail, Jamalpur, Madaripur, Gopalganj, Cox’s Bazar, Noakhali, Laxmipur, Comilla, Barahmanbaria, Molvibazar, Sunamganj, Chapainababganj, Noagaon, Pabna, Thakurgaon, Panchagarh, Kurigram, Nilphamari, Bogra, Satkhira, Jhenidah, Magura, Meherpur, Barisal, Pirojpur and Patuakhali will join today’s prayers.


Via: The Daily Star

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.