Bangladesh re-elected ITU executive member

October 28, 2014

Bangladesh was on Monday re-elected executive member of the International Telecommunications Union in the 19th Plenipotentiary Conference of the forum.
Bangladesh got 115 votes out of 167 and secured seventh position in the election which was held in Busan of South Korea, said a press release issued by the Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission.
Eighteen countries contested against 13 membership posts in this year’s election.
India, Pakistan, Thailand, China, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Saudi Arabia, Indonesia, Philippines, United Arab Emirate and Kuwait also won the executive council membership.
Bangladesh, which won its executive membership to the 46-member ITU executive council in 2010 for a four-year term, is currently representing the council for Asia and Australia regions.
Houlin Zhao of China, who was former deputy secretary general of ITU, was elected secretary general for next four years.

-With New Age input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.