Financial incentives boost local hockey

September 3, 2021

The Tk one crore incentive of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina to the hockey clubs has played a major role in setting the stage ready for Premier Division Hockey League after a long three-year hiatus as Bangladesh Hockey Federation yesterday decided to disburse Tk 96 lakh among 12 participating teams under three categories.
Top three finishers of last edition of premier hockey league – champions Mohammedan SC, runners-up Abahani, third Dhaka Mariner Youngs Club – will each receive Tk 12 lakh ahead of the inter-club player transfers while fourth placed Sonali Bank and fifth placed Ajax SC will get Tk eight lakh each to form their respective squads.
Rest of seven teams – Victoria SC, Wari Club, Bangladesh SC, Shadharan Bima, Bangladesh Police, Azad SC and Dilkusha SC – will each obtain Tk six lakh as the five-day transfers are scheduled to begin on September 19.
The season will kick-off through the Club Cup tournament on October 12 and the league will get underway after a three-day gap following the completion of the Club Cup tournament.
BHF general secretary Mohammad Yousuf informed that the BHF executive committee chaired by BHF president and Air Chief Marshal Sheikh Abdul Hannan also decided to award league champions, runners-up and third finishers Tk three lakh, Tk two lakh and Tk one lakh respectively.

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.