Ansar & VDP win Pioneer League title

April 27, 2015

Bangladesh Ansar & VDP came from behind to beat Tangail Football Academy 3-2 to clinch the title of Pioneer Football League at the Bangabandhu National Stadium on Sunday. All five goals were scored in the second period of the game, thanks to Shamim, Rayhan and Jewel scoring one goal each for the victors after Arif and Joy Bardhan gave a 2-0 lead to the Tangail Football Academy.After a barren first half, Tangail took the lead in the 52nd minute when Arif sent the ball home from a goalmouth melee before Joy Bardhan extended the advantage five minutes later.
Shamim’s long-range attempt found the back of the net to give Ansar a lifeline in the 67th minute and Rayhan leveled the margin 11 minutes later.
Jewel, who netted the winner in dying seconds to take his tally to 22 goals from 12 matches and was adjudged man of the final.. Fakirerpul Shurja Tarun Shangha beat Bangladesh Football Supporters Forum 1-0 to claim the third place.

-With New Age input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.