T20 World Cup: Tigers grouped with India, Pakistan

January 22, 2022

Bangladesh have been placed in the same group with India and Pakistan as the fixtures for the upcoming T20 World Cup which will be held in October-November in Australia were announced on Friday.
The International Cricket Council announced the fixture for the 16-team tournament on Friday, where Bangladesh were drawn in Group 2 with India, Pakistan and South Africa.
Current T20 World champions Australia, England, New Zealand and Afghanistan have been drawn together in Group 1.
Two more teams will join Group 1 and 2 from the preliminary round, where eight teams split into Group A and B will compete.
Sri Lanka and Namibia are in Group A, and West Indies and Scotland are in Group B of the preliminary round and will be joined by four qualifiers, who have not yet been determined.
Bangladesh will begin their campaign directly from the Super 12 stage by virtue of being in the top eight of the T20 team rankings before the deadline set by the ICC.
The tournament will begin on October 16 with the preliminary round. The Sydney Cricket Ground will host the first semi-final on November 9 while the second last-four clash will be held at the Adelaide Oval.
The final of the mega event will be played at the MCG on November 13.
Australia was due to host the T20 World Cup in 2020 but it was delayed two years because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.