Ctg, Rangpur post wins

February 24, 2014

Chittagong and Rangpur completed successful run chases on day four of the fourth round of matches in the National Cricket League on Sunday, while a stubborn final pair for Rajshahi saved a draw against Dhaka. Chittagong v Barisal Opener Mahabubul Karim’s 162 and 49 runs from Faisal Hossain took Chittagong to 295-6 and a four-wicket victory over Barisal at the MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagong on Sunday.
Chittagong resumed their second innings on
113 for no loss needing 294 to win. The hosts scored 179 in the first innings, while Barisal posted 197 and 276.
Rangpur v Dhaka Metro
Rangpur won by six wickets at Shaheed Chandu Stadium in Bogra, with 53 from Mahmudul Hasan and 52 not out from Saymon Ahmad taking them to 187-6 on Sunday.
Rangpur were 113-3 overnight and needed just 23.5 overs on the final day to secure victory. Rangpur scored 240 in the first innings but still managed to force Dhaka Metro to follow-on, dismissing them for 48 before allowing 373 in the second innings.
Dhaka v Rajshahi
Rajshahi number nine Muktar Ali and number 11 Delwar Hossain lasted 50 balls and put on 34 runs to save a draw against Dhaka at BKSP-4 in Savar.
Sabbir Rumman scored 88 and Jubayer Ahmed added 57 for Rajshahi, who started their innings in the morning after Dhaka declared for 28-0 after curiously batting for three overs to end Saturday’s play instead of forcing an immediate follow-on.
Dhaka scored a domestic record 756-5 in their first innings. Rajshahi scored 178 and 272-9.

-With New Age input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.