Bangladesh to co-host 2031 World Cup with India

November 16, 2021

Bangladesh and India will jointly host the 2031 ICC Cricket World Cup, the ICC announced on Monday when they confirmed the host nations for every major ICC men’s limited overs event between 2024 and 2031.
Bangladesh had earlier hosted the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup alongside India and Sri Lanka. In that edition, Bangladesh hosted all six group-stage matches of the Tigers, the tournament opener and two quarterfinals.
The Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in the capital and the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram were the two venues used in the tournament.
Bangladesh also held the curtain raiser event of the tournament at the Bangabandhu National Stadium.
In 2014, Bangladesh hosted the ICC Twenty20 World Cup and in 2003 and 2016 held the Under-19 World Cups.
ICC also announced on Tuesday that for the first time the USA will host a major ICC tournament in 2024, as they will stage that year’s T20 World Cup and in 2025, Pakistan will host the ICC Champions Trophy.
India and Sri Lanka will jointly host the 2026 ICC T20 World Cup and in 2027 Zimbabwe, South Africa and another first time host Namibia will stage the 50-over World Cup.
In 2028, the T20 World Cup will be played in Australia and New Zealand and 12 months later India will host the Champions Trophy.
In 2030, England will share T20 World Cup hosting duties with Ireland and Scotland.

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.