Constellation of stars

April 29, 2012

Meril-Prothom Alo Awards
Thursday evening, Bangabandhu Conference Centre played host to a constellation of stars and exceptional personalities. The long awaited Meril-Prothom Awards ceremony had finally begun.
The evening started off with Anisul Haque taking the podium, greeting those present. He was followed by the editor of Prothom Alo Matiur Rahman. “These awards strive to acknowledge media personalities and their hard work,” he said.
This time around, the Lifetime Achievement Award went to renowned artist Mustafa Monowar. The award was presented to him by Professor Anisuzzaman.
As soon as Monowar left the stage, the lights went out as if on cue. The whirling propellers of a chopper could be heard in the vicinity and as a fierce wind whipped up, a helicopter descended on stage. Out sprang came Chanchal Chowdhury and Tisha, the hosts for the day, staging a dramatic entry. “Because of the traffic jam, we had to resort to air transport to make it on time,” Chanchal Chowdhury joked, engaging the crowd further as the evening progressed.
This year 15 personalities were handed out awards for various categories, selected by the readers of Prothom Alo. Firstly, the Critic Award was won by Monowar Kabir. The next award was given to Monowar Kabir for his directorial work for the play “ Holud”, under the Television Awards category. The award was presented to him by Mahmudduz Zaman Babu and Rokeya Prachi.
Ashraful Chanchal came on stage to receive the Best Director Award for his single episode play “Shonibar Raat Doshta Cholish Minute-e” . The presenters of the award were Touquir Ahmed and Bipasha Hayat.
The Best Actress Award (TV) went to Tisha for her role in the TV play “Tahmina’r Din Japon”. Assaduzzaman Noor and Mita Chowdhury handed her the award.
The Best Actor Award (TV) went to Abul Hayaat for the TV play ” Shonibar Raat Doshta Cholish Minute-e.” The award was presented by Ali Zaker and Sara Zaker.
The Film’s Critic Award for Best Actor went to “Guerilla’s” ATM Shamsuzzaman, presented to him by Khalil and Afroza Banu.
The Critic’s Award for best film went to “Guerilla”.
The Best Film Director award went to Nasiruddin Yousuff for the film “Guerilla”. The award was handed over by noted actors Razzak and Kabori.
Faridur Reza Sagar and Esha Yusuf were accorded the Best Producer Award for the movie. The award was handed to them by Runa Laila and Alamgir.
Joya Ahsan, as expected, won the Best Actress Award for Film, for the movie “Guerilla”. The Best Actor for Film went to Jawata Afnan for his role in the movie “Amar Bondhu Rashed”. The Best Singer (Female) went to Nancy and Best Singer (Male) Arefin Rumi.Moushomi also received an award for her role in the movie “Projapoti”. Shakib Khan won the Best Actor Award for the movie “King Khan”. Jaya Ahsan received Best TV Actress award for drama serial “Chaita Pagol” while Mosharraf Karim bagged Best TV Actor Award for “Cha(n)der Nijer Kono Alo Nei”.
“I have received this award before but this time I received the award for enacting a role in a mega serial,” said an elated Joya Ahsan.
“For the first time I received National Film Award a few days back. This time I received Meril-Prothom Alo Award. These two awards are very important for my career,” said a delighted Shakib Khan.
“Noticing the popularity of the song “Pagol Tor jonno Rey Mon”, I had a faint inkling to get this award. I am happy to receive the award,” said Nancy.
The event was hosted by Chanchal Chowdhury, Tisha and Mosharraf Karim. This was the 14th instalment of Meril-Prothom Alo Award. The event also featured music and dance performances along with the staging of skits.

-With The Daily Star input

Advertisement Area


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.